Facebook allows you to delete embarrassing old posts and photos — here's how you do it
- Facebook's new Manage Activity tool allows you to delete old Facebook posts in batches instead of simply one by one.
- You can delete old photos, remove tags, and hide posts from your timeline.
- You can't delete a post created by another Facebook user - you'll have to ask them privately to remove it.
- The tool is another way that users can use to maintain privacy on the social platform.
- For more stories go to www.BusinessInsider.co.za.
You can now wipe out all of your embarrassing photos on Facebook in bulk instead of just one by one.
On Tuesday, the social networking giant unveiled a new function, Manage Activity, that allows you to delete or hide multiple old Facebook posts from your timeline. According to the Washington Post, Facebook said the new tool is in part a result of feedback from privacy advocates.
It's also a product of the long time period so many users have spent on the platform over the years, amassing streams of perhaps awkward adolescent photos and old relationship posts. Some users may find it beneficial to delete some old content for professional purposes or for privacy reasons.
The tool is only rolling out on the Facebook mobile app for now, with functionality planned for the desktop eventually.
Here's how to use it.
Go to your profile page, and scroll down to where you would create a new post. Click the button that says "Manage Posts."
This is what it will look like. Click the icon in the upper-right corner.
You can filter posts by date, if it was posted by you or someone else, and by privacy setting. There's also a toggle to filter posts that you're tagged in.
I started off by setting the range to 2015, just to see what popped up.
The selection included a birthday post from June of that year.
But then I came across a throwback photo that my mom posted in January of that year showing me in a Halloween costume when I was 11 years old.
If you want to get rid of a post or photo that was posted by someone else on Facebook, you can't delete it yourself. You'll have to ask them privately to remove it.
You can't remove a photo that others have posted, but you can hide it from your timeline or remove the tag.
The tool should also allow a function to archive posts, but we didn't come across an option to do so. The Manage Activity function is still rolling out, according to Recode.
Eventually, the archived posts will be visible to you alone but won't be removed from Facebook. When you delete a post, it will remain in a trash bin for 30 days before disappearing, according to the Post.
You can also download all of your Facebook data in one file.
Receive a daily update on your cellphone with all our latest news: click here.
Get the best of our site emailed to you daily: click here.
Also from Business Insider South Africa:
- A draft law sets SA’s drunk-driving limit to zero – and govt is keen to get it enacted
- From Sasol to Shoprite - here are some bursaries available for university study in 2021
- Chinese manufacturing output surged the most in 9 years in May
- Incredible photos from SpaceX's historic mission to send astronauts into space
- 12 tourist hot spots planning to reopen this June